Latest Entries
California Arts Council / CFTA News

CAA and CFTA names Interim Executive Director

Californians for the Arts and California Arts Advocates names Interim Executive Director   Californians for the Arts (CFTA), a statewide network of arts organizations and California Arts Advocates (CAA), an advocacy organization, has named Julie Baker as Interim Executive Director. Founded in 1996 as a nonprofit 501c(4) statewide advocacy organization by leaders in the arts field, the CAA has … Continue reading

April is Arts Month in LA County

In 2018, Arts for LA will hold the second annual ArtsMonth, a month-long series of events and opportunities for dialogue between the arts community and local representatives.   APRIL 3: COUNTY SUPERVISORS DECLARE ARTSMONTH Tuesday, April 3, 2018, the LA County Board of Supervisors will declare April to be ArtsMonth, continuing our tradition of collaboration … Continue reading

Califorina Delegation in DC March 12-13

Californians for the Arts’ board members Brad Erickson and Sofia Klatzker will be leading the state delegation to participate in National Arts Advocacy Day, March 12-13, 2018. Arts advocates from across the country convene in Washington, DC for our annual Arts Advocacy Day each year. Arts Advocacy Day brings together a broad cross section of … Continue reading

45th Assembly District Candidate Forum

The CSUN Office of Government & Community Relations and the League of Women Voters present the 45th Assembly District Candidate Forum. This will serve as an opportunity for the community to discuss issues and priorities that impact the 45thAssembly District. Event:           CSUN’s 45th Assembly District Candidate Forum Date:             Saturday, March 3, 2018  Time:            8:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. … Continue reading

Empowered Advocacy: Making Change

Session led by Brad Erickson, Executive Director of Theatre Bay Area Scheduled Panelists: Lisa Mallette, Executive Artistic Director of City Lights Theatre of San Jose Susie Medak, Managing Director of Berkeley Repertory Theatre Vinay Patel, Executive Director of the Asian Pacific Islander Cultural Center Continue reading

California Arts Council

Californians for the Arts Welcomes New California Arts Council Leadership

Californians for the Arts (CFTA) co-sponsored a reception (with Arts Orange County) to welcome Governor Jerry Brown’s newly-appointed Executive Director of the California Arts Council, Anne Bown-Crawford, at her first public meeting of the Council on January 25 at the OC Music & Dance Center in Irvine.  CFTA  Board members present that day included President … Continue reading

Arts Advocacy Planning

2018 Legislative Budget Cycle Begins for CA Arts Council: View the Presentation

At the September California Arts Council meeting at the California African American Museum in Los Angeles, its Director of Legislative Affairs, Kristin Margolis, presented an overview of the process and schedule, as well as how the Council can play an important role in keeping the Governor and Legislature informed about the activities of the agency. … Continue reading